Posts: 62
Threads: 5
Joined: May 2010
Reputation:
0
(04-20-2011, 01:59 PM)Finzy Wrote: Okay, got it.
And is there any way to fix my java running out of memory and freezing every once in a while? Usually I can play for around 30 mins fine, then I get an "out of memory" java exception error and the emulator freezes completely. Using r2095 and XmX set to highest possible (around 1568), maximum method size set to 100. (And I've got 4 GB worth of RAM so that should be enough...)
Umm... have u tried Hyakki's launcher..? In Advanced tab, try setting higher values for PermGenSpace...
Or if u aren't using launcher, u can modify start-window-x86.bat in a line which contains this particular code :
Code: "%JAVA_HOME%\bin\java" -Xmx1024m -Djava.library.path=lib/windows-x86 -jar bin/jpcsp.jar
into this one :
Code: "%JAVA_HOME%\bin\java" -Xmx1024m -XX:MaxPermSize=500m -XX:+AggressiveHeap -XX:+UseParallelGC -XX:ParallelGCThreads=4 -Djava.library.path=lib/windows-x86 -jar bin/jpcsp.jar
I added MaxPermSize=500m, and this enables me to play Hexyz Force and Dissidia w/o crashing "out of memory"...
I also added some other arguments such as parallel garbage collector threads and aggressive heap... For me this added a small FPS boost in KH:BBS, though I don't know if this will work for others ....
Posts: 65
Threads: 5
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation:
0
Yeah I use the launcher, will try that, cheers.
Posts: 7
Threads: 1
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation:
0
04-20-2011, 04:48 PM
(This post was last modified: 04-20-2011, 05:29 PM by WSAndrea.)
So, what is the best configuration in order to obtain the maximum performance? I'm playing with various settings without result... I'm also experiencing problems concerning audio... sometimes infact the sounds effects just stop playing, appearently without any reason.
Posts: 65
Threads: 5
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation:
0
If I change MaxPermSize to anything else than the default value, Jpcsp will close instantly on startup. I wonder if it's because I'm also using a high xmx value...
Posts: 37
Threads: 0
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation:
0
are there any different, if I use Data install with 224MB. 371MB, or 542MB in stability, fps, smoth, or maybe something else?
AMD Athlon II X3 3,1 GB - Geforce 8500GT 256 MB - DDR2 1x2GB - XP SP3 32bit -
Posts: 631
Threads: 11
Joined: May 2010
Reputation:
4
(04-20-2011, 09:40 PM)lasyn Wrote: are there any different, if I use Data install with 224MB. 371MB, or 542MB in stability, fps, smoth, or maybe something else?
None what so ever. Battles load almost instantly so there's really no reason to install the data.
Funny thing, I spend more time on the forum instead of on emulators
Posts: 62
Threads: 5
Joined: May 2010
Reputation:
0
04-21-2011, 04:33 AM
(This post was last modified: 04-21-2011, 04:34 AM by tr4nquility.)
(04-20-2011, 09:03 PM)Finzy Wrote: If I change MaxPermSize to anything else than the default value, Jpcsp will close instantly on startup. I wonder if it's because I'm also using a high xmx value... Well... Make sure u have "free" memory sufficient enough for your setting.. Check using Task Manager -> Performance.... And then, calculate your jpcsp setting... i.e. if u set -XmX value as 1536m and your MaxPermSize as 500m, then u will need 2036MB as "free" in task manager.... Less than that, then emulator will fail to start since there isn't enough memory to be allocated to Java Virtual Machine...
At least that's what happened to me... Please feel free for others to correct this if I'm mistaken
If u want to know the error message, try running .bat file using cmd ...
Posts: 304
Threads: 12
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation:
1
(04-21-2011, 04:33 AM)tr4nquility Wrote: (04-20-2011, 09:03 PM)Finzy Wrote: If I change MaxPermSize to anything else than the default value, Jpcsp will close instantly on startup. I wonder if it's because I'm also using a high xmx value... Well... Make sure u have "free" memory sufficient enough for your setting.. Check using Task Manager -> Performance.... And then, calculate your jpcsp setting... i.e. if u set -XmX value as 1536m and your MaxPermSize as 500m, then u will need 2036MB as "free" in task manager.... Less than that, then emulator will fail to start since there isn't enough memory to be allocated to Java Virtual Machine...
At least that's what happened to me... Please feel free for others to correct this if I'm mistaken
If u want to know the error message, try running .bat file using cmd ...
Don't forget to take into account the other 2 Xm file sizes. With max perm size on you need to take into account 4 settings sizes and make sure they're all smaller than your max free ram thats one of the reasons why unlike other emulators this one requires over 4 GBs to run no problem.
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 970 3.7 GHz, GPU: Geforce GTX 550 Ti, Ram: 16 GB, Windows 7 64-bit
Posts: 37
Threads: 0
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation:
0
(04-20-2011, 10:37 PM)Kai3213 Wrote: (04-20-2011, 09:40 PM)lasyn Wrote: are there any different, if I use Data install with 224MB. 371MB, or 542MB in stability, fps, smoth, or maybe something else?
None what so ever. Battles load almost instantly so there's really no reason to install the data.
Oh... same as when we decode audio manually on tmp folder, nothing different
AMD Athlon II X3 3,1 GB - Geforce 8500GT 256 MB - DDR2 1x2GB - XP SP3 32bit -
Posts: 65
Threads: 5
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation:
0
04-21-2011, 11:39 AM
(This post was last modified: 04-21-2011, 11:41 AM by Finzy.)
Wow, can't say I've ever come across an app or an emulator that requires OVER 4 gb worth of RAM yet. Isn't there any way to stop it from using such an insane amount of memory? Sounds very unoptimized if the emulator just keeps collecting that much shit in its memory and doesn't clean up once in a while. I don't think emulating a PSP should require that much memory.
Well, at least I got it to run without freezing now. I set XmX size to 1024 in hyakki's launcher (which is default I think), while increasing MaxPermSize to just below 500. It seems that about 1500 mb is the max I can allocate to Jpcsp (e.g I can set XmX to around 1500+, but more than that and it freezes, and if I adjust MaxPermSize in addition to xmx 1500+, it will freeze as well).
I still get errors/warnings about code cache becoming full and the compiler being disabled, but other than that, the game plays smooth and stable. Completed Zidane's initial story mode last night, so I'd call it playable. Although video cutscenes don't seem to end for me, they just go to a blackscreen at the end, but I can skip them by pressing start and then skip cutscene so it's no problem.
|