This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Getting into development
Hi all,

Sorry if this in in the wrong place. I'm a semi experienced C/C++ developer, with some OpenGL 3.3+ experience. I'd like to help in this project, but I'm not even sure where to start.

Any tips on what I should familarised myself with, first, or some documentation on the architecture of the PS3, etc..?

Thanks,
-Ben
Jumping on the bandwagon really quick, what's the best way to bounce questions about certain parts of the code? I'm looking at a potential solution to a small deadlocking/hang issue I found, but I'm not sure its exactly the correct way of going about it. Should I pull an issue on github?

Also, same problems as Ben above, where are some good places to start?
yep, sending pull requests and hanging out on irc (efnet #rpcs3) is currently the best we have. Also reading the scarce info on the github wiki
What do you think, if I will go to university, and become a master degree in Mathematics with Computer Science in about 7 years, will that be enough for developing emulators? I am mostly interested in figuring out how the hardware works. The only problem is that I think that I am not smart enough.
P.S Sorry for my bad english.