Posts: 7
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation:
0
07-22-2014, 11:10 AM
Hello ,
I just compiled rpcs3 and it works
I own few PS3/fat
here is my cfg
Linux debian 3.14-1-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.14.12-1 (2014-07-11) x86_64 GNU/Linux
cat /proc/cpuinfo |grep -i proc
processor : 0
processor : 1
processor : 2
processor : 3
cat /proc/meminfo
MemTotal: 4060308 kB
MemFree: 564736 kB
MemAvailable: 3359284 kB
Buffers: 396520 kB
Cached: 2263292 kB
SwapCached: 60 kB
Active: 1659588 kB
Inactive: 1355220 kB
Active(anon): 259928 kB
Inactive(anon): 103708 kB
Active(file): 1399660 kB
Inactive(file): 1251512 kB
Unevictable: 0 kB
Mlocked: 0 kB
SwapTotal: 6547452 kB
SwapFree: 6547392 kB
Dirty: 52 kB
Writeback: 0 kB
AnonPages: 354928 kB
Mapped: 120872 kB
Shmem: 8628 kB
Slab: 419728 kB
SReclaimable: 396780 kB
SUnreclaim: 22948 kB
KernelStack: 2448 kB
PageTables: 15088 kB
NFS_Unstable: 0 kB
Bounce: 0 kB
WritebackTmp: 0 kB
CommitLimit: 8577604 kB
Committed_AS: 1528500 kB
VmallocTotal: 34359738367 kB
VmallocUsed: 83548 kB
VmallocChunk: 34359649512 kB
HardwareCorrupted: 0 kB
AnonHugePages: 0 kB
HugePages_Total: 0
HugePages_Free: 0
HugePages_Rsvd: 0
HugePages_Surp: 0
Hugepagesize: 2048 kB
DirectMap4k: 109504 kB
DirectMap2M: 4083712 kB
glxinfo
name of display: :0.0
display: :0 screen: 0
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
Just wanted to know how to start homebrewing
is it possible to communicate with real ps3 with usb / eth ?
Anyway thanks guys
Posts: 7
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation:
0
Regarding Ethernet, every game/homebrew I have seen so far just uses the sys_net module, which is just a wrapper of the lv2 syscalls http://www.psdevwiki.com/ps3/LV2_Functio...t_Syscalls
We haven't implemented those lv2 syscalls either, but we are high-level emulating that module as well (it works just like "sys/socket.h" on Linux, just with few differences SCE introduced just to fuck with us). And it actually works fine for some games. For example, I remember some FTP server homebrew (there was a thread by @ssshadow about it afaik) that you can run on RPCS3, so that any computer in your LAN can access to /dev_hdd0/ via FTP. Sending files is slow as fuck though.
Great , may tcpdump be useful to debug things ?
So yeah, connectivity between PS3s and RPCS3 vía LAN should be possible. However, due to RPCS3s slowness and poor RSX emulation, among several other issues, make that impractical for now.
[/quote]
Another question i have is i own few ps3 (fat 40/60) sata hard drives is it possible to use those as raw device for example ?
Posts: 107
Threads: 0
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation:
5
(07-25-2014, 05:38 AM)jzx Wrote: Another question i have is i own few ps3 (fat 40/60) sata hard drives is it possible to use those as raw device for example ?
Nope, we do not emulate the harddrive encryption (it uses per console keys if I remember right)
Posts: 7
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation:
0
07-27-2014, 10:37 AM
(This post was last modified: 07-27-2014, 10:40 AM by jzx.)
(07-25-2014, 06:22 AM)Bigpet Wrote: (07-25-2014, 05:38 AM)jzx Wrote: Another question i have is i own few ps3 (fat 40/60) sata hard drives is it possible to use those as raw device for example ?
Nope, we do not emulate the harddrive encryption (it uses per console keys if I remember right)
is it possible to imagine something as using hdd studio to produce some sort of flat file
that can be an HDD image file and mount it as a regular drive or even fake it as an usb drive in rpcs3 ?
(07-25-2014, 06:22 AM)Bigpet Wrote: (07-25-2014, 05:38 AM)jzx Wrote: Another question i have is i own few ps3 (fat 40/60) sata hard drives is it possible to use those as raw device for example ?
Nope, we do not emulate the harddrive encryption (it uses per console keys if I remember right)
It may sound absurd but is it possible to build and run rpcs3 on big iron ?
(eg sparc64/mips64)
Posts: 107
Threads: 0
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation:
5
(07-27-2014, 10:37 AM)jzx Wrote: is it possible to imagine something as using hdd studio to produce some sort of flat file
that can be an HDD image file and mount it as a regular drive or even fake it as an usb drive in rpcs3 ? nope
(07-25-2014, 05:38 AM)jzx Wrote: It may sound absurd but is it possible to build and run rpcs3 on big iron ?
(eg sparc64/mips64)
not without modifications
But that wouldn't serve too much of a purpose, inaccuracy and incompletion is what our primary issues are, additional hardware will sadly not solve that.
Posts: 7
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation:
0
07-30-2014, 10:11 AM
(This post was last modified: 07-30-2014, 10:21 AM by jzx.)
(07-27-2014, 11:42 AM)Bigpet Wrote: (07-27-2014, 10:37 AM)jzx Wrote: is it possible to imagine something as using hdd studio to produce some sort of flat file
that can be an HDD image file and mount it as a regular drive or even fake it as an usb drive in rpcs3 ? nope
(07-25-2014, 05:38 AM)jzx Wrote: It may sound absurd but is it possible to build and run rpcs3 on big iron ?
(eg sparc64/mips64)
not without modifications
But that wouldn't serve too much of a purpose, inaccuracy and incompletion is what our primary issues are, additional hardware will sadly not solve that.
Of course, but what i mean is basically:
More power to understand more complex mechanisms
8RISC CPU (8mb each) / 64gb RAM / 6 x72gb FC disks is certainly more powerful than modern PC
Imagine a (really) powerful host , an attached usb to sata adapter with a ps3 sata hdd .
wouldn't it be useful for some purposes ?
Posts: 2,485
Threads: 77
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation:
32
07-30-2014, 11:00 AM
(This post was last modified: 07-30-2014, 11:05 AM by ssshadow.)
(07-30-2014, 10:11 AM)jzx Wrote: Of course, but what i mean is basically:
More power to understand more complex mechanisms
What? I doubt there is anything important not understood about the ps3, and even if there was, how would access to a fast computer help?
(07-30-2014, 10:11 AM)jzx Wrote: 8RISC CPU (8mb each) / 64gb RAM / 6 x72gb FC disks is certainly more powerful than modern PC
This is all useless for all practical intents and purposes.
(07-30-2014, 10:11 AM)jzx Wrote: Imagine a (really) powerful host , an attached usb to sata adapter with a ps3 sata hdd .
wouldn't it be useful for some purposes ?
No, not at all. Technically slower than a normal SATA SSD too, not that disc I/O is important anyway.
Asus N55SF, i7-2670QM (~2,8 ghz under typical load), GeForce GT 555M (only OpenGL)
Posts: 7
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation:
0
No, not at all. Technically slower than a normal SATA SSD too, not that disc I/O is important anyway.
FC disks are faster than sata drive (not SSD) at constant rate of 15krpm ...
Posts: 2,485
Threads: 77
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation:
32
(07-30-2014, 01:28 PM)jzx Wrote: No, not at all. Technically slower than a normal SATA SSD too, not that disc I/O is important anyway.
FC disks are faster than sata drive (not SSD) at constant rate of 15krpm ...
Still fucking useless for rpcs3 and most people in general.
Asus N55SF, i7-2670QM (~2,8 ghz under typical load), GeForce GT 555M (only OpenGL)
Posts: 7
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation:
0
Still fucking useless for rpcs3 and most people in general.
[/quote]
Lol so i will dd my own ps3 hdd (40gb) to my 6 FC array and try to handle an entire image file in ram .
I would have to add a module to your code to handle the dd'ed file
Anyway thanks for your help
|